Like all other car, truck and motorcycle drivers, moped operators in North Carolina are now required by law to carry minimum liability insurance. N.C. legislators passed House Bill 148 in 2015, which requires moped owners to carry at least $25,000 in insurance for property damage, $30,000 in insurance for personal injury or death to one victim and $60,000 maximum in insurance for multiple victims.
The new moped insurance law went into effect on July 1, 2016, although drivers have until September 1, 2016 before they will encounter penalties. Anyone cited before that point will receive a written and verbal warning.
While House Bill 148 seems to affect moped owners primarily, it could have consequences for anyone injured by or involved in a collision with a scooter or moped.
North Carolina Moped Laws Also Require Vehicle Registration
North Carolina G.S. 105-164.3 defines a moped as “A vehicle that has two or three wheels, no external shifting device, and a motor that does not exceed 50 cubic centimeters piston displacement and cannot propel the vehicle at a speed greater than 30 miles per hour on a level surface.” Vehicles without pedals commonly known as “scooters” fall under this definition as long as their engine displacement does not exceed 50cc, and their top level speed cannot exceed 30 mph.
Such vehicles are not legally allowed on any public road with a listed speed more than 35 mph. All operators and passengers are required to wear helmets. As of July 1, 2015, all moped owners are also required to register their vehicle with the N.C. DOT and display a license plate.
These moped laws also now include requiring minimum liability insurance. The state’s minimum 30/60/25 cap applies across the board to all vehicles.
However, mopeds are extremely light and cannot travel at fast speeds, making them unlikely to cause significant damage outside of causing an at-fault wreck. As such, insurers will likely require a modest premium for moped owners, totaling $6-$10 a month for drivers with clean records, according to WCTI12.
Moped operators who are pulled over and cannot provide proof of insurance will receive a $50 citation for their first offense.
Moped Accident Victims and Drivers
N.C.’s moped insurance law could potentially affect civil cases filed on behalf of moped drivers or even against moped drivers. The state’s minimum insurance could potentially cover incidents that the driver may face if they cause property damage or medical injury. At the same time, operators who cause an accident and do not have the needed insurance may now still be expected to be liable for the full extent of damages.
If you are a moped owner who has been injured or you have been in an accident with a moped owner who did not have insurance, your personal injury case could be affected. Contact a North Carolina moped accident attorney to consider the options at your disposal and fight for your right to fair compensation. Call Tatum Law Firm at (704) 307-4350 today to receive your free case evaluation.