Regulations for Intrastate Trucking

Home /  Regulations for Intrastate Trucking

The Highly Regulated Trucking Industry

The trucking industry has two main sets of laws:

  • Interstate traffic laws apply to all commercial trucks that travel between different states.
  • Intrastate trucking laws apply only to the commercial motor vehicles that operate and deliver goods within one state.

These intrastate trucks are regulated by the Department of Transportation and are covered by regulations issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.

Unfortunately, accidents involving commercial motor vehicles happen too frequently. That’s why attorney Brian Steed Tatum has spent years helping injured drivers and their families in North Carolina and South Carolina in dealing with the devastating consequences of truck collisions. His puts his experience to work for all clients in order to ensure that they receive the compensation they deserve.

Intrastate Trucking Regulations in North Carolina

Trucks that operate only in North Carolina are governed by the state’s regulations. Like most states, North Carolina has adopted the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations with a few exemptions.

The Department of Public Safety audits motor carriers to confirm their compliance. This department also investigates trucking accidents and promotes programs for accident prevention and public safety on the highways.

The differences between the federal and state regulations for the trucking industry include drivers’ qualifications and hours of service. In North Carolina, an intrastate truck driver who is not transporting hazardous materials may be as young as 18. Also, if a driver does not meet the physical requirements to operate a motor vehicle in North Carolina, that driver may attempt to get a waiver from the state.

Some of North Carolina’s hours of service rules are less stringent than the federal hours of service rules. In North Carolina, truck drivers cannot

  • drive for more than 12 hours following eight consecutive hours off duty
  • drive for any period after having been on duty for 16 hours following eight consecutive hours off duty.
  • cannot be on duty for more than 70 hours in a seven-day period or more than 80 hours in an eight-day period as determined by the driver’s previous seven days of operation.

The accident reporting rules are similar for both state and federal guidelines. In North Carolina, truck drivers must report significant accidents immediately to local law enforcement. Also, if the accident results in a fatality, then this must be reported within 24 hours to the Public Service Commission. If an accident had no fatalities, it must be reported to the Public Service Commission within 15 days. Finally, all accidents must be reported to the director of public safety within 30 days.

North Carolina and South Carolina Truck Accident Attorney

Investigating a truck accident and determining the laws and regulations that apply specifically to your case can be a difficult and complex process. Therefore, having an experienced truck accident attorney on your side can help make the experience more manageable.

The Tatum Law firm has extensive experience in the complex process of truck accident investigation and litigation. We know the effects of these accidents and the processes that must be followed. We have years of experience in litigating and representing clients who have been involved in commercial vehicle or truck accidents.

Our experienced truck accident attorney, Brian Steed Tatum, will manage your case and pursue your claim in order to ensure that you are compensated fairly. If you or a loved one has been injured or killed in a truck accident, please contact our office for assistance at (704) 307-4350 or online for a free case evaluation.

Truck Accidents

Practice Areas

Legal Malpractice

Legal Malpractice

Personal Injury

Personal Injury

Medical Malpractice

Medical Malpractice

Commercial Litigation

Commercial Litigation

Eminent Domain

Eminent Domain

Contact Us

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.