Experienced Personal Injury Attorney Serving North Carolina and South Carolina
As a victim of a car accident, you likely feel confused and uncertain about what to do in order to be compensated for your injuries. At this difficult time, you have legal options after a car accident in North Carolina and South Carolina, even when you are dealing with a driver who does not have car insurance as mandated by law.
Although the North Carolina Motor Vehicle Law requires drivers to maintain a certain amount of liability insurance as the owner of a motor vehicle, thousands of drivers choose to risk driving without that insurance. This may cause problems for you if you are the victim of an accident involving an uninsured driver.
How to Obtain Compensation
If you have insurance, as you should, the good news is that North Carolina also mandates that drivers maintain uninsured/underinsured coverage under their own policy. This means that you still have the option to receive compensation under your policy if the at-fault driver is uninsured, as long as it is proven that you were not a cause of the accident.
You may use your uninsured motorist coverage when your have been physically injured or property damage has resulted to your vehicle after an accident. A driver is uninsured when he or she does not have the minimum liability insurance required by law, meaning that there is no bodily injury liability insurance in at least the amount of $30,000 per person or $60,000 per accident and when there is no property damage liability insurance to cover at least $25,000.
As one of the few contributory negligence states, North Carolina bars recovery if the victim is a cause the accident, even if that victim was responsible for only 1%. South Carolina differs in this regard because it is not a contributory negligence state. If you were at fault for a percentage of the accident, you may still be able to recover under your uninsured motorist coverage that is part of your insurance policy. Even in cases involving a hit and run where the other driver does not leave any contact information and is therefore not identified, the Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Law will allow you to recover.
You will likely have questions regarding your claim and about preparing a strategic plan to deal with your insurance company.
Call Us Today for Free Consultation
At the Tatum Law Firm, our legal team will work tirelessly to ensure a satisfactory resolution for your case. We understand the hardships that come with being a victim of a car accident or losing a loved one due to the careless or reckless driving of another person. Having an experienced personal injury attorney by your side can make all the difference in your claim. Attorney Brian Steed Tatum will negotiate with your insurance company to reach a fair settlement or, if necessary, will fight for your rights in the courtroom.
For a free consultation, please contact us. We will review the facts of your case and inform you of your options. Please call us today at (704) 307-4197.